Ozempic half-life
The Ozempic half-life, in weeks, not days
The Ozempic half-life is about one week, and its label also says how long semaglutide stays in the circulation after the last dose: about 5 weeks. Wegovy, the Wegovy pill, Ozempic tablets and Rybelsus contain the same medicine. Here is what each label says, what the numbers mean, and who to ask about pregnancy plans or surgery.

On this page
- What the Ozempic half-life means
- The Ozempic half-life in four numbers
- Ozempic, Wegovy and the tablets: what each label says
- How long does Ozempic stay in your system?
- The Wegovy pill, Rybelsus and Ozempic tablets: same half-life, different start
- Ozempic half-life vs Mounjaro and other GLP-1 medicines
- Before a pregnancy or an operation: what the labels say
- Questions worth asking your prescriber or pharmacist
- Questions people ask
- Sources
In short
- Ozempic's half-life, the time it takes for the amount of semaglutide in the body to fall by half, is about 1 week, and the US label says semaglutide stays in the circulation for about 5 weeks after the last dose.1
- Wegovy contains the same medicine: its label gives the same half-life and says semaglutide is present for about 5 to 7 weeks after a last injection of 2.4 mg or 7.2 mg, or a last 25 mg Wegovy tablet.2
- Injected semaglutide peaks 1 to 3 days after a dose and reaches a steady state after 4 to 5 weeks of weekly injections; the tablets peak about 1 hour after each dose.1,2,3
- The Ozempic, Wegovy and oral semaglutide labels each advise discontinuing at least 2 months before a planned pregnancy, citing semaglutide's long half-life or washout period; that timing is one to plan with your prescriber.1,2,3
- Handle's Between doses, a Premium feature in the iPhone app, draws an estimated level curve only from the doses you have recorded; it never draws a future dose and is not dose advice.
What the Ozempic half-life means
Half-life is the time it takes for the amount of a medicine in your body to fall by half. For semaglutide, the medicine in Ozempic, the US label gives an elimination half-life of about 1 week.1 It pairs that with a once-weekly injection, given on the same day each week, at any time of day, with or without meals.1
The label also gives a more practical figure: semaglutide is present in the circulation for about 5 weeks after the last dose.1 That describes medicine in your blood. It doesn't say how long any effect lasts, and it isn't a timetable for decisions about your treatment.
The Ozempic half-life in four numbers
From the Ozempic label. Each is an average from studies, not a measurement of you.
- Half-life of semaglutide1
- About 1 week
- From an injection to the highest level1
- 1 to 3 days
- Of once-weekly injections to reach a steady state1
- 4 to 5 weeks
- In the circulation after the last dose1
- About 5 weeks
The label gives the share of an injected dose that reaches the blood as 89%.1 Steady state means the rise and fall from one weekly dose to the next has settled into a repeating pattern; before that, levels are still building.
Ozempic, Wegovy and the tablets: what each label says
Semaglutide is one molecule sold as several products. Here they are grouped by how they're taken, with each label's wording where the figures differ.
| Injections: Ozempic, Wegovy | Tablets: Wegovy pill, Rybelsus, Ozempic tablets | |
|---|---|---|
| Half-life | About 1 week1,2 | About 1 week2,3 |
| Highest level | 1 to 3 days after a dose1,2 | About 1 hour after a dose2,3 |
| Share absorbed | 89%1,2 | About 1% to 2% (Wegovy pill, Ozempic tablets); about 0.4% to 1% (Rybelsus)2,3 |
| Steady state | After 4 to 5 weeks of weekly doses (Ozempic label; not stated in Wegovy's)1,2 | After 4 to 5 weeks (Rybelsus and Ozempic tablets label; not stated for the Wegovy pill)2,3 |
| In the circulation after the last dose | About 5 weeks (Ozempic); about 5 to 7 weeks after 2.4 mg or 7.2 mg (Wegovy)1,2 | About 5 weeks (Rybelsus, Ozempic tablets); about 5 to 7 weeks after a 25 mg Wegovy tablet2,3 |
From each medicine's US prescribing information.1,2,3 "Ozempic" on its own means the weekly injection; Ozempic tablets are a separate daily product for type 2 diabetes, and the label says they and Rybelsus are not interchangeable milligram for milligram.3
Handle PremiumPremium
Between doses: the slow semaglutide curve, estimated
Between doses draws an estimated semaglutide level curve from the Ozempic, Wegovy or Rybelsus doses you have recorded, with their dates and times, using semaglutide's published half-life and absorption figures.
It is a model, not a blood test, and it only draws doses you have already taken: never a future dose, never a due date, and never a suggestion to take, move or change a dose. Your prescriber sets your dose.
- Only doses you have recorded
- Semaglutide's published half-life and absorption figures
- An estimate, never a measurement
- No calculator and no timing suggestions
Premium is an optional subscription in the iPhone app.

How long does Ozempic stay in your system?
Unlike the Mounjaro and Zepbound labels, which give no such figure for tirzepatide,6,7 the semaglutide labels answer this directly. Ozempic's says about 5 weeks after the last dose; Wegovy's says about 5 to 7 weeks after a last injection of 2.4 mg or 7.2 mg, or a last 25 mg tablet; and the label for Rybelsus and Ozempic tablets says about five weeks after the last tablet.1,2,3
Keep in mind what "present in the circulation" means: medicine in the blood, not a measure of any effect. It isn't a countdown for restarting, switching or anything else; those are decisions for your prescriber. For tirzepatide, see Mounjaro half-life.
The Wegovy pill, Rybelsus and Ozempic tablets: same half-life, different start
Swallowed semaglutide is the same molecule, with the same half-life of about a week.2,3 What changes is how it gets in. The tablets contain an absorption enhancer called SNAC, absorption happens mainly in the stomach, and only about 1% to 2% of each Wegovy pill or Ozempic tablet is absorbed (about 0.4% to 1% for Rybelsus), against 89% from an injection.1,2,3
That is why the labels ask for a strict morning routine: on an empty stomach, with up to 4 ounces of plain water, then at least 30 minutes before eating, drinking or taking other medicines by mouth.2,3 In studies, more semaglutide was absorbed with less water and with a longer wait after the tablet.2
Each tablet's level peaks about 1 hour after it's taken.2,3 In people without type 2 diabetes, the Wegovy label predicts average levels on the 25 mg tablet comparable to the 2.4 mg weekly injection, with more variation between people. In people with type 2 diabetes, average levels on the tablet were lower, the label notes some may have levels below the therapeutic range, and the tablets haven't been studied for weight reduction in that group.2 More on the two forms in Wegovy pill vs injection.
Ozempic half-life vs Mounjaro and other GLP-1 medicines
Label figures side by side. How long a medicine lasts in the body is not how well it works, so this doesn't rank them.
| Medicine (brands) | Half-life | Steady state after |
|---|---|---|
| Semaglutide injection (Ozempic, Wegovy) | About 1 week1,2 | 4 to 5 weeks of weekly doses (Ozempic label)1 |
| Semaglutide tablets (Wegovy pill, Rybelsus, Ozempic tablets) | About 1 week2,3 | 4 to 5 weeks (Rybelsus and Ozempic tablets label)3 |
| Tirzepatide (Mounjaro, Zepbound) | About 5 days; 5 to 6 in people with overweight or obesity6,7 | 4 weeks of weekly doses6,7 |
| Orforglipron (Foundayo) | About 29 to 49 hours8 | About 1 week of daily tablets8 |
From each medicine's US prescribing information. How the two weekly injections compare in trials is covered in Mounjaro vs Ozempic, and every medicine is listed in GLP-1 medications compared.
Before a pregnancy or an operation: what the labels say
Pregnancy planning is where the labels themselves bring up semaglutide's long half-life, and surgery is where its slower stomach emptying matters. In both, the timing belongs to your care team.
If you're planning a pregnancy
Each semaglutide label says to discontinue it at least 2 months before a planned pregnancy: the Ozempic and tablet labels cite semaglutide's long washout period, and Wegovy's its long half-life.1,2,3 UK guidance from the MHRA gives the same interval for Wegovy, Ozempic and Rybelsus, and advises contraception while taking them and through that wash-out period.4
If a pregnancy is possible or planned, raise it with your prescriber early so the timing can be planned together. If you think you might already be pregnant while taking a GLP-1 medicine, the MHRA says to speak to a healthcare professional straight away.4
If you have surgery or a procedure coming up
Semaglutide slows stomach emptying. The US labels report rare cases of pulmonary aspiration in people on GLP-1 medicines having general anesthesia or deep sedation, even after following fasting instructions. They say there isn't enough data to know whether changing fasting instructions or temporarily stopping the medicine would reduce the risk, and ask you to tell your healthcare providers before any planned surgery or procedure.1,2
In the UK, the MHRA asks anaesthetists to assess each patient's risk individually, and advises patients not to stop treatment without first discussing it with their doctor.5 With semaglutide in the circulation for weeks, the plan belongs with your surgeon and anesthesiologist rather than a countdown.1
In Handle
Weekly pen or daily tablet, recorded as it happened
Ozempic, Wegovy and Rybelsus are in Handle's medicine list by name. The Wegovy pill and Ozempic tablets aren't listed yet, so you add them under "Something else" with their name, amount and daily schedule. Each dose is then a quick entry: the amount, the time and, for an injection, the site.
When your prescriber, a pharmacist or a surgical team asks when your last dose was, the answer is on your record. More in our Ozempic tracker, Wegovy tracker and semaglutide tracker guides.
- Weekly or daily schedules, injected or by mouth
- Add a forgotten dose up to 30 days back, with its real date
- Reminders in the iPhone app, if you want them
- No streaks, no scores and no dose advice

Questions worth asking your prescriber or pharmacist
A long half-life raises practical questions. Take these to someone who knows your full picture.
- What should I do if I'm late with a dose or miss one? (Each semaglutide product has its own rule; ask rather than guess.)
- I'm planning a pregnancy, or might become pregnant: when should we plan the change, and which contraception suits me until then?
- I have surgery or a procedure coming up: who needs to know, and will anything change?
- I take other medicines by mouth: could semaglutide's slower stomach emptying matter for any of them? (The label says it may affect how they are absorbed.1)
- If I take the tablets, am I taking them in a way that lets them absorb as intended?
Preparing for a review? See preparing for a GLP-1 doctor appointment. For what the labels report about side effects, see Ozempic side effects and Wegovy side effects.
Questions people ask
What is the half-life of Ozempic?+
About 1 week. Ozempic's US label gives semaglutide an elimination half-life of approximately 1 week and says it is present in the circulation for about 5 weeks after the last dose.1 Half-life is the time it takes for the amount in the body to fall by half; it is an average from studies, not a measurement of your own level.
How long does Ozempic stay in your system?+
About 5 weeks after the last dose, according to the Ozempic label.1 Wegovy's label says about 5 to 7 weeks after a last 2.4 mg or 7.2 mg injection or a last 25 mg tablet.2 Both describe semaglutide in the blood, not how long any effect lasts, and neither is a timetable for decisions about your treatment.
What is the half-life of Wegovy?+
About 1 week, the same as Ozempic, because both contain semaglutide.1,2 Wegovy's label says semaglutide stays in the circulation for about 5 to 7 weeks after a last injection of 2.4 mg or 7.2 mg, or a last 25 mg tablet.2 Compare the two brands in Ozempic vs Wegovy.
What is the half-life of the Wegovy pill?+
About 1 week: it is the same medicine, semaglutide, taken by mouth.2 Each tablet peaks about 1 hour after it's taken, and the label says semaglutide is present for about 5 to 7 weeks after a last 25 mg tablet. Only about 1% to 2% of each tablet is absorbed, which is why the label's empty-stomach routine matters.2
What is the half-life of Rybelsus?+
About one week, according to the US label for Rybelsus and Ozempic tablets, which also says steady levels are reached after 4 to 5 weeks and semaglutide stays in the circulation for about five weeks after the last tablet.3 In the US, the newer 1.5, 4 and 9 mg tablets are now sold as Ozempic tablets; Novo Nordisk says Rybelsus will continue to be marketed outside the US.3,9
Is there an Ozempic half-life calculator?+
Not here, on purpose. A generic calculator can't know your own record, and a chart of future doses edges toward a dosing plan, which is your prescriber's job. Handle's Between doses, a Premium feature in the iPhone app, draws an estimated curve only from the doses you have recorded. It is a model, not a blood test.
How long after stopping Ozempic can I get pregnant?+
Plan this with your prescriber. The Ozempic label advises discontinuing at least 2 months before a planned pregnancy because of semaglutide's long washout period, and the Wegovy and oral semaglutide labels say the same.1,2,3 UK MHRA guidance gives the same interval, with contraception in the meantime.4
Do I need to tell my surgeon I take Ozempic?+
Yes. Ozempic's label asks you to tell your healthcare providers before any planned surgery or procedure, because semaglutide slows stomach emptying and rare cases of aspiration under anesthesia have been reported with GLP-1 medicines.1 The UK's MHRA advises not stopping treatment without first discussing it with your doctor.5 Your surgical team decides what, if anything, changes.
Sources
- Novo Nordisk, via DailyMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine). Ozempic (semaglutide) injection — Prescribing Information, effective June 1, 2026.
- Novo Nordisk, via DailyMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine). WEGOVY (semaglutide) injection and WEGOVY (semaglutide) tablets — Prescribing Information, effective June 18, 2026.
- Novo Nordisk, via DailyMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine). RYBELSUS and OZEMPIC (semaglutide) tablets — Prescribing Information, effective January 30, 2026.
- Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (UK). GLP-1 medicines for weight loss and diabetes: what you need to know, updated February 5, 2026.
- Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (UK), Drug Safety Update. GLP-1 and dual GIP/GLP-1 receptor agonists: potential risk of pulmonary aspiration during general anaesthesia or deep sedation, January 28, 2025.
- Eli Lilly and Company, via DailyMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine). Mounjaro (tirzepatide) injection — Prescribing Information, effective August 27, 2026.
- Eli Lilly and Company, via DailyMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine). Zepbound (tirzepatide) injection — Prescribing Information, effective August 28, 2026.
- Eli Lilly and Company, via DailyMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine). Foundayo (orforglipron) tablets — Prescribing Information, effective July 29, 2026.
- Novo Nordisk, via PR Newswire. Novo Nordisk's Ozempic pill, the only FDA-approved oral peptide GLP-1 medication for adults with type 2 diabetes, soon to be available in the US, May 1, 2026.
Written by the Handle team from the sources above, last checked on September 23, 2026. How we write: our editorial policy. Spotted something out of date? Tell us at [email protected].
Handle supports recording and conversations with your care team. It does not diagnose, and it never tells you to start, change, skip or stop a dose. This page is general information, not medical advice. Always follow your prescriber and your medicine's instructions for use.